Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In
News & Press: State Bar News

6 attorneys apply for 17th Judicial District judge

Friday, September 02, 2016   (0 Comments)
Share |

The Judicial Nomination Commission has received applications from six attorneys for 17th Judicial District Court judge.

The six who applied are:

  • Peter Helland
  • Yvonne Gaye Laird
  • Helge Naber
  • Dan Raymond O'Brien
  • Randy Randolph
  • Douglas Womack

The commission will accept comment on the applicants through a link available on its website. Comments will be accepted until 5 p.m. on Monday, Oct. 3.

The successful applicant will fill the seat to be vacated by retiring Judge John McKeon effective Nov. 30. The 17th Judicial District covers Blaine, Phillips, and Valley counties.

The commission welcomes public comment, either in writing (e-mail or paper) or via telephone. These comments, which become part of an applicant’s file, will be posted on the commission’s website and forwarded to Gov. Steve Bullock. Public comment may be submitted to:

Judicial Nomination Commission, c/o Lois Menzies, Office of Court Administrator, P.O. Box 203005, Helena, MT 59620-3005; or

The commission will forward the names of three to five nominees to the governor for appointment after reviewing the applications and public comment and interviewing the applicants, if necessary. The person appointed by the governor is subject to Senate confirmation during the 2017 legislative session. If confirmed, the appointee will serve for the remainder of Judge McKeon’s term, which expires January 2019.