Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
News & Press: State Bar News

7 apply for Yellowstone County district judge seat

Friday, August 11, 2017  
Posted by: Joe Menden
Share |


The Judicial Nomination Commission has received applications from seven following attorneys to fill the 13th Judicial District (Yellowstone County).

The seven are vying to replace the Honorable Russell C. Fagg, who is retiring effective Oct. 13. The applicants are:

  • Charles Brentley Brooks, Billings city attorney

  • Jessica Teresa Fehr, Moulton Bellingham, Billings

  • Donald L. Harris, Harris, Gannett & Varela, Billings

  • Jacquelyn Marjorie Hughes, Hughes Law, Billings

  • Yvette Karen Lafrentz, standing master, 13th Judicial District, Billings

  • Joseph Mathieu Raffiani, Raffiani Law Firm, Billings

  • William John Speare, Speare Law Firm, Billings

The commission is now soliciting public comment on the applicants. The public can view the applications at the commission's web page.  

The commission accepts comment in writing (e-mail or paper) or via telephone. The comments, which become part of an applicant’s file, will be posted on the commission’s web page and forwarded to Gov. Steve Bullock. Public comment may be submitted to:

Judicial Nomination Commission, c/o Lois Menzies, Office of Court Administrator, P.O. Box 203005, Helena, MT  59620-3005;; or 406-841-2950.

Comments will be accepted until 5 p.m. on Sunday, Sept. 10.

The commission will forward the names of three to five nominees to the Governor for appointment after reviewing the applications, receiving public comment, and interviewing the applicants if necessary.  The position is subject to election in 2018.  The successful candidate will serve a six-year term. 

Judicial Nomination Commission members are District Judge John C. Brown of Glendive; Jan Bishop of Missoula; Karl Englund of Missoula; Elizabeth Halverson of Billings; Hal Harper of Helena; Lane Larson of Billings; and Nancy Zadick of Great Falls.