Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
News & Press: State Bar News

Bankruptcy Court taking comments on proposed local rules, forms

Friday, December 28, 2018  
Posted by: Joe Menden
Share |

The U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the District of Montana has published new proposed local rules and forms and is now accepting public comment on the proposals.

The proposed rules and forms, along with “compare” versions showing the changes, are available on the court website.

Comments must be made by March 2 by emailing to  Comments will be reviewed along with the proposed amendments.  Amendments adopted and approved by the Court will go into effect on a date after comment period has ended, likely in mid-March 2019.  You will receive another announcement in advance of the effective date.

Chief Bankruptcy Judge Benjamin Hursh also extended by a year the terms of the following six members of the Local Bankruptcy Rules Advisory Committee in order to maintain continuity and institutional memory: Chuck Hingle, Billings; Richard J. Samson, Missoula; Kelli Harrington, Butte; Terry Healow, Butte; Robert G. Drummond, Great Falls; and Harold V. Dye, Missoula.

Newly appointed committee members are Dan Morgan, Missoula; J. Andrew Patten, Billings; Laura Myers, Billings; Maggie Stein, Billings; and Shannon Sanderson-Moyle, deputy clerk, U.S. Bankruptcy Court, Butte. The representative of the U.S. Trustee's Office is yet to be determined.

Members of the existing Committee whose terms have expired are: Gary Deschenes, John Grant, Eli Patten, Tamara Melia Woodward, James Cossitt, and Patti Mahoney.

State Bar of Montana members: Use code EP2015 to save $150 on Techshow registration!