Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
News & Press: State Bar News

10 to interview for 4th Judicial District judge opening

Tuesday, July 9, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Joe Menden
Share |

The Judicial Nomination Commission on July 15 will interview 10 applicants for the position of district court judge for the 4th Judicial District. The applicants are:

  • Travis Benjamin Dye
  • Carrie Lynne Garber
  • Karen Paula Kane
  • Larry Dean Mansch
  • Jason Troy Marks
  • Donald James McCubbin, Jr.
  • Ryan Alane Phelan
  • Tracy Labin Rhodes
  • Michael Joseph Sherwood
  • Leta Jean Womack

Interviews will begin at 8 a.m. in the Missoula County Courthouse, 200 W. Broadway, Room 151 (Sophie Moiese Room) in Missoula. Deliberations will follow the last interview.  The interviews and deliberations are open to the public; however, the commission will not take public comment about the applicants.

The commission will forward the names of three to five nominees to Gov. Steve Bullock for appointment. The position is subject to election in 2020, and the successful candidate will serve until January 2023.

The 4th Judicial District covers Missoula and Mineral Counties.

Judicial Nomination Commission members are District Judge John C. Brown of Bozeman; Janice Bishop of Missoula; Karl Englund of Missoula; Elizabeth Halverson of Billings; Hal Harper of Helena; Lane Larson of Billings; and Nancy Zadick of Great Falls.