Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
News & Press: State Bar News

Finalists named for Eighth Judicial District judge seat

Tuesday, October 13, 2020   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Joe Menden
Share |

The Judicial Nomination Commission has submitted three names to Gov. Steve Bullock for consideration for appointment to the judicial seat vacated by the Honorable Gregory Pinski in the Eighth Judicial District. They are:

  • David J. Grubich, Standing Master in the Eighth Judicial District Court, where he presides over dissolution and parenting proceedings and other domestic relations matters. Previously Grubich was an associate attorney at Ugrin, Alexander Zadick in Great Falls, where he worked from 2010-2018, where his practice included insurance law, employment law, construction law and environmental contamination litigation. He is a 2010 graduate of the University of Montana’s Blewett School of Law.
  • Michele Reinhart Levine, partner at Linnell, Newhall, Martin and Schulke. Levine has spent her whole career at the firm, where she was an associate from 2012-2017. Her practice focuses on complex civil litigation, including workers’ compensation, and personal injury on behalf of injured persons. She is a 2012 graduate of the Blewett School of Law.
  • Matthew Stuart Robertson, Deputy County Attorney at the Cascade County Attorney’s Office, where he has worked since 2003. From 1998-2003, Robertson was a Special Assistant Attorney General with the Montana Department of Corrections. A 1993 graduate of the University of Montana School of Law, he was a partner at Anderson, Robertson and Stevens from 1993-1997.

The Commission’s action follows the close of a 30-day public comment period.  Before recommending the nominees to the Governor, Commission members interviewed the applicants.  The person appointed by the Governor is subject to Senate confirmation during the 2021 legislative session.  The position is subject to election in 2022, and the successful candidate will serve for the remainder of Judge Pinski’s term, which expires in January 2025.