- For The Public
- Attorney Search
Disclaimer: The following links and/or information are to assist those seeking admission to the State Bar of Montana. It is of necessity abbreviated at times. If there is any conflict between any language on this website and any applicable rules (Rules for Admission to the Bar of Montana; Rules of Procedure of the Commission on Character and Fitness; Montana Board of Bar Examiners' Rules), the Rules prevail.
Note: Due to the Covid-19 Pandemic, the July 30, 2020 Montana Law Seminar (MLS) will be offered by Zoom only; there will not be an in-person seminar offered. You may register to attend the seminar until July 22, 2020; click here for the Registration Form. The fee to attend the MLS, $155, can be paid by check to the State Bar of Montana, P.O. Box 577, Helena, MT 59624 or on this website under the Store then Admission tabs. If you have already registered for the seminar and after you register, a link to attend via Zoom will be e-mailed to you along with an MLS itinerary.
Pass List: Successful Examinees on the Montana UBE (Will be Posted 04/10/2020)
There will not be a swearing-in ceremony conducted during current Covid-19 situation. The Clerk of the Montana Supreme Court will be contacting successful, eligible examinees from the February 2020 Montana UBE by Friday, April 10th. Questions regarding swearing-in procedures should be directed to the clerk's office, no earlier than 3:00 pm on April 10th. To reach the clerk's office, please call (406)444-3858.
The pro hac vice fee/phv renewal fee has been changed to $495 effective March 8, 2018.
Admission to the State Bar of Montana and links to forms: Click Here.
Rules for Admission to the Bar of Montana (Adopted 10/30/2018)
Board of Bar Examiners' Rules(Adopted 10/06/2017)
Rules of Procedure of the Character & Fitness Commission (Adopted 12/17/2015)
Pro Hac Vice Rules & Application (Adopted 06/07/2016)
Student Practice Rule (Adopted 05/01/1975, Amended 08/13/1991)