Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
2020 State Bar Elections
Share |
Meet the 2020 Candidates |  Positions on ballot | Position Descriptions | Voting and Eligibility | Election Calendar/Deadlines


Frequently Asked Questions

Email Questions or Comments


Meet the Candidates

The State Bar of Montana has asked nominees for Board of Trustee and Bar Officer positions to submit candidate statements.

The candidates' names are listed below along with links to their candidate statements (where available).


One candidate for postion 

BRIAN C. SMITH, Smith Law, PLLC, Missoula


State Bar of Montana ABA Delegate

One candidate for position

TUCKER GANNETT, Gannett Sowden Law, Billings

Tucker Gannett's candidate statement


Area A Trustee

(Flathead and Lincoln Counties)

Two candidates for one position on ballot

RYAN HENNEN: Office of the Public Defender, Kalispell

Ryan Hennen's Candidate Statement

RANDY SNYDER: Snyder Law Office, Bigfork

Randy Snyder's Candidate Statement


Area B Trustee 

(Lake, Mineral, Missoula, Ravalli and Sanders Counties)

Four candidates for three positions on ballot

BETH BRENNAN: Brennan Law & Mediation, adjunct professor, Blewett School of Law, Missoula

Beth Brennan's Candidate Statement

ERICA GRINDE: Director of Risk Management and Benefits for Missoula County, Missoula

Erica Grinde's Candidate Statement

BETH HAYES: Montana Legal Services Association, Missoula

Beth Hayes' Candidate Statement

NATASHA PRINZING JONES: Boone Karlberg, Missoula

Natasha Prinzing Jones' Candidate Statement


Area C Trustee

(Beaverhead, Deer Lodge, Granite, Jefferson, Madison, Powell and Silver Bow Counties)

One candidate for one position on ballot

KAYLAN MINOR: Solo Practitioner, Dillon

Kaylan Minor's Candidate Statement


Area D Trustee 

(Cascade, Glacier, Pondera, Teton and Toole Counties)

Two candidates for two positions on ballot

SAMIR FAEREVIK AARAB: Boland Aarab, Great Falls

Samir Aarab's Candidate Statement

GREGG SMITH: Smith Oberlander, Great Falls

Gregg Smith's Candidate Statement


Area G Trustee 

(Gallatin, Park and Sweet Grass Counties)

Two candidates for two positions on ballot

ALANAH GRIFFITH: Griffith & Cummings, Big Sky

Alanah Griffith's Candidate Statement

MATTHEW HAUS: Tarlow Stonecipher Weamer & Kelly, Bozeman

Matthew Haus' Candidate Statement


Electronic Balloting

The State Bar of Montana now features an online election system. Eligible voters will receive an email with voting instructions in May. If you are an eligible voter and did not receive the instructions, you may email to request instructions to be sent again. (Information on voting eligibility here)

Positions on 2020 ballot

The State Bar will elect a President-Elect; an ABA Delegate; and Trustees from the following bar areas:

  • One Trustee from Area A (Flathead and Lincoln Counties);
  • Three Trustees from Area B (Lake, Mineral, Missoula, Ravalli and Sanders Counties); 
  • One Trustee from Area C (Beaverhead, Deer Lodge, Granite, Jefferson, Madison, Powell and Silver Bow Counties);
  • Two Trustees from Area D (Cascade, Glacier, Pondera, Teton and Toole Counties); and
  • Two Trustees from Area G (Gallatin, Park and Sweet Grass Counties).

Position Descriptions

Board of Trustee (2-year term)

The duties of each Trustee are:

  1. To attend each Board meeting, unless excused by the President for good cause.
  2. To attend the annual meeting.
  3. To actively participate on all committees of which he or she is a member.
  4. To regularly attend the meetings of local bar associations within the Trustee’s area and provide reports about State Bar activities to the local bar members.
  5. To actively encourage and sponsor formation of local bar associations within the Trustee’s area and serve as a voting member on the local bar association’s governing board (where permitted)
  6. To serve as a liaison on the committees or sections to which the Trustee has been appointed by the President. The Trustee will:
    • serve as a voting member of the committee or section and encourage the committee or section to attain the objectives assigned by the Board;
    • attend meetings of the committee or section; and
    • report on the committee or section activities at quarterly meetings of the Board.
  7. To accomplish such other purposes as may from time to time be appropriate.

President-Elect (1-year term as President; serves on Executive Committee for 3 years)

The President-Elect is a member-at-large of the Board of Trustees and the Executive Committee; and performs all other duties assigned by the President or Board of Trustees.  Before assuming the office of president, the President-Elect must present to the Board of Trustees for its consideration a proposed plan of State Bar goals and objectives for the succeeding year. The Immediate Past President is a member of the Executive Committee.  Responsibilities include: (1) organizing the local bar leadership conference; (2) chairing the Past Presidents Committee; (3) serves as a liaison with out of state Bar members; (4) performs other duties as assigned by the State Bar President or Board of Trustees.

State Bar of Montana ABA Delegate (2-year term)

Serves as a representative of the State Bar of Montana to the American Bar Association.

Voting and Eligibility

Voting members are active, active military service and judicial members except Supreme Court justices. Only voting members may hold office or vote in any election conducted by the State Bar. [By-laws of the State Bar of Montana, Article I, §3(c)]

A voting member is eligible to vote only in the area in which the member resides. A voting member may represent an area only if the member both resides in the area and either maintains a law practice or serves as a judicial officer in the area. [By-laws of the State Bar of Montana, Article III, §2(a)]

Election Calendar/Deadlines

April 6 – Filing deadline for original nomination petitions - download the form HERE

May 5 – Online voting begins

May 26 – Online voting period ends

June 5 – Votes tabulated


Nomination Petition Form